Best Dumbbells for Home Workouts in India (2026)
Last updated: 16 October 2026 · 9 min read
Which dumbbells should you buy for working out at home? This guide covers the three common types. One is a set of two neoprene dumbbells from Kore. One is a plate-loaded cast iron set from Kakss, built from steel rods and plates. One is a dial-adjustable pair from Boldfit, which changes weight with a turn of a dial. We read each maker's own page, and we say clearly what those pages do not tell you.
- Neoprene-coated set of twoKore Professional Neoprene Dumbbells, Set of TwoSet of two
- Cast iron plate-loaded setKakss Cast Iron Chrome Plated Spinlock Adjustable Dumbbell SetAdjustable set with two steel rods and plates
- Dial-adjustable pair with traysBoldfit Adjustable Dumbbells, Yellow BlackDial-adjustable pair with two storage trays
| Pick | Type | Material | Weight range |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kore Professional Neoprene Dumbbells, Set of Two | Set of two | Neoprene coating; the page calls them cast iron hand weights | Page lists 1 kg to 10 kg options |
| Kakss Cast Iron Chrome Plated Spinlock Adjustable Dumbbell Set | Adjustable set with two steel rods and plates | Cast iron, chrome plated, with two steel rods | Page lists sets of 10 kg to 50 kg in total |
| Boldfit Adjustable Dumbbells, Yellow Black | Dial-adjustable pair with two storage trays | Cast iron plates; the page says rust-resistant construction | 2.5 kg to 24 kg per dumbbell |
Compare two picks
Pick any two. The details come from the table above.
Our three picks
Kore Professional Neoprene Dumbbells, Set of Two
Verdict: A set of two neoprene dumbbells with hexagonal heads and the weight number printed on the end caps. The page contradicts itself on what is in the box.
The maker's page says the head is hexagonal to prevent rolling away, and that the dumbbells are colour coded and have the weight number printed on the end caps. It also says the thick neoprene coating gives a comfortable grip and protects the floor from damage. These are the maker's claims.
The page is not fully clear. The weight selector offers 1 kg to 10 kg, but the in-box line says 1 kg x 2. The product information section also mentions rods, gloves and other items that do not belong in a two-dumbbell set. The page does not describe the handle design and does not mention a warranty.
Good
- The maker says the hexagonal head prevents the dumbbell rolling away
- The maker says the dumbbells are colour coded and have the weight number printed on the end caps
- The maker says the neoprene coating gives grip and protects the floor
Not so good
- The page contradicts itself on which weight comes in the box
- The page does not describe the handle design and does not mention a warranty
Check the exact model, current price, availability and seller policies at the retailer.
Kakss Cast Iron Chrome Plated Spinlock Adjustable Dumbbell Set
Verdict: A plate-loaded set with steel rods and plates, listed in sizes from 10 kg to 50 kg. The maker says it converts to a barbell.
The maker's page calls this a cast iron, chrome plated set. It lists a '2pc Steel Dumbbell Rod 4kg' line, plus plates. The sets run from 10 kg to 50 kg. By the page's own breakdown, the 50 kg set has four 1.5 kg plates and sixteen 2.5 kg plates, and the set totals include the rod line. The page says the set takes seconds to assemble and take out.
The maker says the grips have a knurling pattern so they don't slip, even when wet, and that the set converts from hand weights to a barbell. The page gives no detail about how the spinlock works. It does not state a warranty or a country of origin.
Good
- The maker says the grips have a knurling pattern so they don't slip, even when wet
- The maker says it converts from dumbbells to a barbell
- The page gives a plate-by-plate breakdown of what is in the set
Not so good
- The page does not explain the lock mechanism, and it states no warranty
- The page's set totals include the '2pc Steel Dumbbell Rod 4kg' line
Check the exact model, current price, availability and seller policies at the retailer.
Boldfit Adjustable Dumbbells, Yellow Black
Verdict: A dial set that the maker says gives a full rack of weights in a fraction of the floor space. The page gives no dimensions or care steps.
The maker's page says you turn the selection dial and the weight changes in seconds. It gives the range as 2.5 kg to 24 kg per dumbbell, and says the cast iron plates lock together through an interlocking system. A pair comes with two storage trays. The maker says one pair replaces fifteen sets of fixed dumbbells, and that two dumbbells and two trays give a full rack of weights in a fraction of the floor space. The page lists curls, shoulder presses, bent-over rows and squats.
The page does not state the size of each step, the dimensions or any care steps. The page links to Warranty Registration and Warranty Policy pages but states no warranty terms itself. It says the country of origin is China, and that the set is made for and packed by Bling Brands Pvt. Ltd. of Bengaluru.
Good
- The maker says the dial changes weight in seconds
- The page gives a range of 2.5 kg to 24 kg per dumbbell
- The page says a pair includes two storage trays
- The maker says the pair and two trays take a fraction of the floor space of a full rack of weights
Not so good
- The page does not state the size of each step between weights or any dimensions
- The page gives no care steps and no product-specific warranty terms
Check the exact model, current price, availability and seller policies at the retailer.
How to choose
Fixed or adjustable. Wikipedia says weight plates are slid onto the outer portions of the dumbbell and secured with clips or collars, and that selectorized dumbbells let you alter the weight while resting in the stand, with block, dial, glide and twist types. In our view, a fixed pair is the simplest to use, but you need a separate pair for each weight. In our view, an adjustable set covers a range of weights in one purchase.
Start light and build up slowly. The NHS strength exercises page shows the biceps curl with a pair of light weights, and says filled water bottles will do. It also says to build up slowly and to aim to gradually increase the repetitions of each exercise over time. In our view, if you have an injury or a health condition, ask a doctor or a qualified trainer first.
Plan for how often you will train. The NHS guidelines for adults say to do strengthening activities that work all the major muscle groups, on at least two days a week. The page lists lifting weights as one example of such an activity.
Look at the material and coating. Wikipedia says inexpensive fixed dumbbells are cast iron, sometimes coated with rubber or neoprene for comfort, and cheaper versions use a rigid plastic shell filled with concrete. In our view, read the material line on the product page, because a name alone may not tell you what is inside.
Check what is in the box. In our view, dumbbell listings can be unclear. The Kore page shows weight options from 1 kg to 10 kg but its in-box line says 1 kg x 2, and the Kakss set totals include the steel rod line. In our view, read the title, the in-box line and the weight option you pick.
Think about floor space. The Boldfit maker page says its pair with two trays gives a full rack of weights in a fraction of the floor space.
Common questions
How heavy should my first dumbbells be?
The NHS strength exercises page uses light weights, even filled water bottles, for its biceps curl, and says to build up slowly by gradually increasing repetitions. In our view, pick a weight you can lift with control. This is general information, not medical advice.
Should I buy fixed or adjustable dumbbells?
In our view, fixed pairs are simple and need no setup, but you need a separate pair for each weight, while adjustable sets give a range from one purchase. According to the maker pages, the Kakss set comes with two steel rods and plates, and the Boldfit changes weight by turning a dial.
How often should I train with weights?
The NHS says adults should do strengthening activities that work all the major muscle groups on at least two days a week. It lists lifting weights as one example.
Do these come with a warranty?
The maker pages we read do not state a warranty for these three products. The Boldfit page links to Warranty Registration and Warranty Policy pages but states no warranty terms itself.
More buying guides
Sources we used
Pages we read, checked on 16 October 2026. Shops change listings often, so details may differ when you look.